How to Avoid Code While Using Tumblr and WordPress

Let’s face it, the internet -for all its glamor and stupidity- is a piece of work. Those of us “internet junkies” who can barely manage html can testify to that.

(I mean.. heck, I haven’t even figured out how to use tabs on my wordpress posts yet)

Within the safe constraints of Facebook , Instagram, and Twitter, all is well; encountering any pieces of lose, uncovered code is an unheard of, unimaginable phenonomenon – like reaching the end of the infinity that is one’s newsfeed.
But, one hesitant toe into the tepid waters of reddit, wordpress, tumblr, and even..goodreads ends that virginity.

Code is everywhere – strange pieces of a robotic, stunted language that looks better suited for alien communication float around everywhere with their CSS’s and other troubling acronyms.

Tumblr, for example, is teeming with creative life – elaborate blogs (with groan-worth pun names) galore! But for a native Tweeter like me, it means many traumatic encounters with that which is dreaded- code.
Designing a mini-blog on the stickiest platform ever with no programming knowledge whatsoever isn’t particularly my idea of a social time anyway.

But it is for social-media-loving, cat-video-watching, technologically-handicapped so-called internet junkies like me, that the various tech gods around the world have developed extensions, and easy-to-use add-ons.

These anonymous, hard-core programmers with their mercifully free (or at least dirty cheap) internet knowledge have simplified Tumblr experiences – cloaking the nakedness of code with iOS-like platforms and shielding our ignorant eyes.

Here is a super-duper list of Tumblr and WordPress extensions that tried-and-tested-by-the-least-technology-friendly-millenial-alive are perfect for all your internet needs:

  1. Tumblr – xkitGuys, xkit is a big deal. I mean – it is a HUGE deal. Taking Tumblr off of xkit is kind of like pulling a morphine plug from..well someone who really needs it (apologies.. that wasn’t the best of analogies).
    No seriously, look at this:

    An actual Tumblr post in the xkit fandom

    This is some serious stuff – if you have a Tumblr, then this one is for you. It’s clean; it helps you fight spam; helps you insert the “Read more” tag easily etc. etc. I’m pulling these from the loong list of features on the xkit site which I found here, but you can have my word for it (does that even mean anything?) – this thing is no anonymous little extension – it’s unofficially the official unofficial extension of Tumblr i.e. it’s the cool, easy, illegal not the staff’s favorite side of Tumblr.

  2. WordPress – Yoast SEO pluginI think this one’s a classic – must-have one every WordPress blog. Actually, it’s the only extension I have on my blog right now. Yoast’s SEO plugin is simple, effective, and free! It’s a standard add-on, so don’t think about it – just download (you have more than just my word I swear).

    This is basically what it looks like: very clear.

  3. WordPress – Disqus
    Disqus is a cool commenting system with spam reporting, share buttons, user tagging, and all that jazz. It’s minimalistic in design, and is just a more convinient experience for your readers.
    I personally don’t use Disqus on this blog (well, that’s code for I haven’t set it up yet), but I do use it on my two other blogs, and that’s gone comparitively well so far (as a disaster-prone person, I really cannot blame Disqus for my two distinct experiences with rather hilarious trolls).

Well, here ends my list, but what I lack in options, I make up with in reliability, and popularity. I assure you that the above plugins are industry old hands (or are fast becoming so), and will make for the smoothest possible first-time blogging experience especially if you are from the much simpler (though less desirable) world of Facebook.

Leave a Reply

